The Secret By: K.L. Slater (Reviewed by Rochelle)

About Book:

You turn your back for a minute. And now your son is in terrible danger …

Louise is struggling to cope.  As a busy working mum, she often has to leave her eight-year-old son Archie at her sister Alice’s flat.

Alice and Louise used to be close.  But there’s a lot they don’t know about each other now – like the bottle of vodka Louise hides in her handbag, Alice’s handsome new friend and the odd behaviour of her next-door neighbour.

Archie is a curious little boy. He likes to play on his own at his auntie’s flat until one day when he sees something he shouldn’t. Now he has a secret of his own.  One he can’t tell his mum. One that could put him and his family in terrible danger.

The most gripping psychological thriller you’ll read this year from the top five bestselling author K.L.Slater.  Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

About Author:

After years of trying to get published and never getting further than the slush pile, I went back to university at the age of 40 where I studied for an English & Creative Writing degree followed by an MA in Creative Writing.

Although I also worked full-time during the five years I studied at university, the courses gave me the time and space to try different writing and increased my confidence and belief in my writing. Before I graduated from my MA, I had secured representation with my agent, Clare Wallace, at the Darley Anderson Literacy, TV and Film Agency and had my first book deal.

My first adult psychological thriller for Bookouture is called ‘Safe with Me’ and it actually started life as my dissertation on my English & Creative Writing degree.

The creepy voice of Anna came to me strong and insistent . . . she wanted to be written, she wouldn’t go away.

I live in Nottingham with my husband, Mac. Between us we have three grown-up kids; my daughter, Francesca and Mac’s sons Nathan and Jake.

I also write multi-award winning YA fiction under the name Kim S

  • Genre:  SuspenseThriller
  • Expected publication: July 27th 2018
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Pages:  331

My Review:

I would like to thank Netgalley, Bookouture and The Fiction Café Review for an advance copy of The Secret.

This is the first of KL Slater books I have read and it won’t be the last, it’ s written very well and comprehensively. Well, there’s more than one secret here – and not one of them was anything I expected.

This was a good psychological thriller with many twists and turns and secrets.  The story revolves around two sisters Louise and Alice.  They both have secrets and are determined not to let the other learn them.  Louise is picture perfect while Alice is a nervous wreck due to a previous incident which has changed her life (both physical and mental) for the worse.    Until one day her sister dropped of her son Archie for her to watch.  Alice formed a bond with Archie which and which she was starting to venture out into the public.  I love the bond between these two.

I couldn’t wait to see if I could guess the secret, but every time I thought I had, nope it would give me another twist.

Heart-stirring from start to finish!  

Website  Twitter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s